top of page

Goodbye Somber Summer



Tonight is the last day of Summer and tomorrow is the first day of school. The infamous "Junior" year. Usually every year before the beginning of the first semester, I'm always excited because I recognize that I'm given a fresh start. I get to look forward to events, befriend new people, join other extracurriculars that interest me... But that excitement isn't here because you know why. The C-word. Something that the world is adjusting to still. Right now I'm suppose to be preparing my first-day outfit that is made up of back to school sales during tax-free weekend. But, not this year I suppose. Instead, I'm making sure that my Wi-Fi is working because I'm going to be crammed up in my bedroom desk for 7 plus hours in AVL (Alvin Virtual Learning) getting distracted every second of the day. Everything is just... Different. I won't see my friends, I won't laugh at stupid incidents that occur during lunch, I won't enjoy crazy hectic football season, all of the school events are most likely going to be canceled, and the closest thing I'll have to genuine human interaction on a day to day basis is through google meets call. The first day is supposed to make you have that adrenaline rush. You're trying to find out who have the same classes as you, who you're going to start sitting with at lunch, where you're class is located/running out of time to get there in time (especially in a 3-story building), and not to mention get bored out of your mind after listening to syllabi, and trying to see what clothing you can get away with without breaking the dress-code since it's always excused during the first week. The first day is where parents realize that their child is going to middle school and is starting to take transportation by themselves on the bus. The day where they take pictures with their child and their rolly backpack. It's also where I get a chance in finding some new eye-candy from new students I mean.. come on ;). I'm just going to be here... In one spot for 16 weeks until we just might get back on campus in the second semester. By then I want to be physically and mentally fit. Once we all return it will be the highest peak of my entire existence thus far. Ew, I have expectations for myself- that's funny. I don't want to return after 1 year of not being at school without having self-improvements. Every single day I'm gradually changing into a different person. And the first day is something that is a huge refresher to my state of mind. Until the global crisis has gotten better and we all return, I'm ready to be as responsible as I possibly can this year. Hell, I might even get all As for once. Or As and Bs.. It's honestly been since like the 7th grade since I've gotten all As and Bs. On the bright side to this virtual learning ordeal, I think this will play as a great advantage to my grade point average. There isn't anything that I will certainly prioritize before my education that will restrain me from doing my outright best. Now last year... I'm pretty sure you can get an idea of why my grades were extremely low. Another advantage for AVL is that I'm in the comfort of my own home and I can practically do my assignments anywhere in this house. I can do it in a bathtub, on my bed, on the couch, on my backyard deck, and anywhere at all.. as long as it's like in this approx 2700 square foot home. I just need to get comfortable because the c-word isn't going to go away anytime soon.

I wanted to have one last day of something somewhat fun before summer ends. That was with none other with Nica down on West 19th street, the Heights. Damn it was a nice place to shop and walk around. The heights is such a must-go place. We went to AG antiques, this book store, a bohemian boutique, and this vintage thrift shop called Retropolis where we spent so much time at. Before we were going to leave I found this $20 dollar black leather fringe vest that I bought for my mother and me since it was such a steal. I decided to just get it since I just received a deposit from my workplace of a whopping $61... Yeah please read that in sarcasm. Later we ate at this taco place and an ice cream parlor afterward. Nica and I always wish that we lived in a place the Heights where we would have so many things to go to and never be bored. Where we can appreciate independent businesses, live in city culture, and become apart of the community. Maybe one day that will be our life. Today being the actual last day, it was so-so. Nothing but broken AC, being yelled at for my driving skills, and biking while passing by the usual seniors that play volleyball.

After reflecting over these past 6 months of global havoc and one somber summer, thinking about all of the things we could be doing is such a waste of time. We can't do anything about it we simply just have to move forward and have hope for the future. *My dad just came home after retrieving his stuff at his apartment right now as I type. Though this Summer is finally coming to an end, we have the future to look forward to. It's a new day tomorrow and I'm ready for what's in store for me...I'm sure of it.

Recent Posts

See All

AVL

I'm almost towards the end of the first nine weeks of the first semester and I'm not dead! I've been gone for quite a while but I'm gonna update you. Not too much has happened but its been pretty even

bottom of page