top of page

Disco Dream + Rollermania


Roller skating makes my feet fucking hurt. So much for wanting to resemble the roller disco persona that I aspire to be. For the past couple of months since the beginning of quarantine, I had the sudden urge to live my 70's disco dream which was suppose to be the theme of my 16th birthday party that I never threw because of Corona. Damn. I don't what it is about me and the past. Actually thinking about it now, a lot of teens take fashion trends from other decades and it's pretty common now. I think we gravitate towards these past decades because we want to live through the nostalgia that our past generations have experienced. I mean most teens my age want to go to vintage diners, buy vinyl records, go roller skating, go to arcades, and have everything so cinematic. I'm glad though to be honest, everyone's taking appreciation over fashion trends, the simplicity of sources in entertainment, and just overall bringing it all back. I can see why everyone is in love with the whole 60's editorial looks, the 70's casual attire, the 80's workout aesthetic, and so on. You know what I think? We're running out of ideas so we're taking ideas from the past. I mean the fuck did we make "a trend". Bandana shirts, mom jeans, and plaid pants it what we got.


Back to wanting to live my teenage dream, I can't wait until Corona is over and I finally have the opportunity to go to a roller disco with Monica in downtown Montrose, "The Heights." That place is the epitome of what a 90's film setting looks like. Beautiful aged homes, places to eat wherever you go, vintage stores, antique shops, club... It's the perfect place in my opinion to live in. It's right in the city but right when you get into the heights it's just like walking down in New Orleans. But damn I really need to connect with a lot of my old friends besides only really talking to Nica. You know, the ones that are your school friends but outside you don't really talk/hangout with them. Anyways, I think a lot of those clubs and roller discos require to be 18+.I think I can pass as 18? People at first encounter with me usually already think I'm older than I already am with the way I talk, dress, and act. Besides the fact when you get to know me I act 6 instead of 16 at times. Heavy makeup plus hella high heels plus good posture equals 2 years added to my appearance. I just can't wait. I don't care when I just want to go and have the time of my life skating carelessly. Yesterday I watched so many roller skating edits from Instagram and YouTube.. That's exactly what I want to look like when I skate. Effortless and fucking majestic. Technically it's still summer and the weather out is still off the fucking charts but hey I wobbled a bit and was off balance at times while still maintaining my "I know what I'm doing" look. I only own roller blades from like ten years ago but surprisingly the wheels are still pretty good for gliding. I had to change them which was was a bitch because I never changed the wheels and I didn't know what to use but luckily we got a box filled with tools. Eventually I found instructions and the right things to make this magic happen. I changed the wheels and replaced them with the one's that were on my old kid pair which worked so much better. Honestly I can skate pretty smoothly forwards and backwards. Now all I gotta do is learn how to do those damn dance moves and I'm good to go. But I really want actual roller skates. I'm trying to wait for the new stock in one of the popular skating websites like Impala skates but they're literally all sold out in my sizes. I just gotta work with what I got.

When I skated today it felt so free-filling and I honestly felt so cool. Wow I'm lame but for real though I felt really good skating. It's definitely a work out my legs and feet are dead. I encountered a dog trying to attack me and these two little cute martial arts kids who was interested in my rollerskates. They were brother and sister and I kid you not, the sister was extremely intimidating she talked more than I did but she was so sweet. I just have that feeling that they're going to turn out so well when they grow older. I played hide and seek with them in the playground for a while and it felt so odd because the excitement of "playing games" when you're younger isn't the same when you start growing up. That's a whole 'nother topic I should touch on another time. Anyways she just had so much enthusiasm and I was fairly impressed with the way she carried herself while talking. I had to go because it was getting dark but I kept eyeing on the volleyball courts because I saw a group of senior guy's that go to my school. There was literally too many of them it's corona and you aren't suppose to be in groups larger than 10. Especially if you aren't wearing masks. Wow I sound like a Karen. But anyways, I wanted to skate past them so I can make some kinda impression but I chickened out since I was DMing one of them for the past couple of weeks because of Dual Credit. WHICH I got an A on! I really though I was going to fail but my professor didn't fail me thank god. He rounded my 89.8 and I couldn't be any happier. I have 12 more days until I drown into virtual learning but until then, I'm going to make more outfits that will go well with when I actually get Roller Skates. Yeah I'm that girl. But hey, what if I happen to spontaneously run into a dream boat of a guy while he catches me as I gracefully fall with my outfit that screams "I'm not like the other girls"? Exactly. My point proven. I hope you can hear the tone/sarcasm of how I'm actually saying all of this in my head. Future Chrystelle stop cringing please and thank you.


See you soon ya hoe

Recent Posts

See All

AVL

I'm almost towards the end of the first nine weeks of the first semester and I'm not dead! I've been gone for quite a while but I'm gonna update you. Not too much has happened but its been pretty even

bottom of page